Simple Christmas

I was talking to a friend of mine about Christmas. I was going on and on about the things we had to do and the gifts and the activities. When I finally had to stop to take a breath I heard this: “We’re keeping it simple. It’s been a whole lot calmer this year.” Simple Christmas. What a concept that is. Would we even know how to react in a situation where we didn’t have to kill ourselves to jump over all the holiday hurdles?

I don’t know about you but after this year I’m willing to try it.

3 responses to “Simple Christmas

  1. So what would a “simple” Christmas consist of? I tend to think of our celebration as pretty simple as compared to others that I have attended but I’m sure my wife would disagree. So I’m interested what constitutes simple?

  2. You know, it’s very common to consider the Christmas holiday a wonderful time for children. Many adults say things like ” I just love seeing children so happy around the holidays” – yes, it’s wonderful to see children happy but I have to admit I enjoy Christmas more and more as I mature and am able to meditate on God’s incredible plan and how Jesus’ incarnation baffles and yet amazes us as believers. Christmas is fun for kids but I find it far more delightful and meaningful now that i’m an adult.

  3. Agreed. It’s difficult to grasp the magnitude of God as a baby when you’re a child. Presents are much easier to deal with. I think its important, too, to share with kids as much as they can take (they can take quite a bit) about Jesus and why He did come to Bethlehem.

Leave a Reply

