Given Pause

I haven’t been all that active writing for the last few weeks. Mostly recovery from the holidays I guess. It takes longer for things to connect than it did say a decade ago. The second reason is that I read this and this and was given pause for my reasons. It’s always good to review your motives in any situation. Especially something like blogging where you interact with so many people—sometimes. The possibility is there I suppose, that you could write something and it would soon be all over the internet. People try to do that for the exposure. To jack up that hit counter and while I’m not so narcissistic that I’m certain that’s going to happen I still check my stats first thing when I log on. It’s hard to resist—like opening a present on Christmas morning.

A Christian shouldn’t just write to keep up with the world even if it is the virtual world of blogging. Our words should matter. Salt and grace should season our dialog with others.

Hey! I’m working on it! Just like you are.

But should we remain silent, I wonder, in the interest of peace? Should we not be contentious just for the sake of not being contentious? I thought so for a long time. I thought it was more important that you keep the peace and not make trouble and just roll along. Sometimes though, you just have to assert yourself and the truth. Otherwise you end up like…well, like Judas. You bottle it up and just get angry and don’t allow for correction. Pretty soon you’re doing something stupid like betraying your Messiah and Savior and Lord. Or you end up like Peter and you talk too much. You confess Christ as the Son of the Living God in on breath and rebuke Him for confiding in you what is about to happen to him in the next.

This just about sums up how I feel about it:

“To take no pleasure in assertions” Luther tells us “is not the mark of a Christian hear; indeed, one must delight in assertions to be a Christian at all. (Now lest we be misled by words, let me say here that by ‘assertion’ I mean staunchly holding your ground, stating your position, confessing it, defending it and persevering in it unvanquished….)”
From: Bondage of the Will

This is my first actual book by Martin Luther. I think I’m going to like this guy.

2 responses to “Given Pause

  1. “while I’m not so narcissistic that I’m certain that’s going to happen I still check my stats first thing when I log on. It’s hard to resist—like opening a present on Christmas morning.”

    Sad, but too true…just don’t make the hit counter your home page. 😉

    Good post and congrats on the 1000 hits.

  2. home page

    *chuckle

Leave a Reply

