Why buy a rose…

In my post last week Do Not Be Deceived, I made a reference to what happens when you accept a fake over the real thing. Kevin Rhyne added this quote which I really thought a lot of and blogrolled him for his trouble. (We’ll see if that’s a good thing or not.)

I’ve got a little bit more to say about it this morning though.

I was over at the Founders blog this morning and read this troubling piece. I guess righteous indignation goes both ways. My point in the first post I talked about was that it is so easy to be deceived in this generation. I mean, why by Rose-like Lisianthus when you can have a rose right? But there are slick preachers with slippery agendas out there who will hook you with sweet words and keep you coming back and giving money by telling how great you are. Or they’ll tell you how great you CAN be if you keep coming and giving and supporting their ministry. A few steps back from that outright heresy are the churches who do the best they can with what they’ve got. They take the interpretations of the Word that have been handed down through the years in their church and they apply them. They believe these things. More to the point, they call their pastors based on whether or not they believe them too.

Are we so surprised then that sermons like that one pop up? I mean, we’re talking about something like 150 years or so Southern Baptist deviation from the Doctrines of Grace? I had never heard about the things until I started looking into the basis for the Baptist Faith and Message—at least not in the context of the roots of our Convention.

But here’s the thing that really gets me and I’ll try at some point to get a grip on this later: Roses are a cultivated plant. What that means is that the first roses are nothing like what we have today and if we want to be honest about it we have to admit that, although they have their points of excellence, there are some things about them that have been changed over the years. Hybrid teas and floribunda, bush and climber, dwarf, giant, and tree—all features added by astute and careful adaptation by the rose growers.

There’s a spiritual lesson in that one right there at the end if you’ll just look for it.

Leave a Reply

