Communion

I read this and had a few more thoughts than a comment would allow so I thought I’d just post them rather than clutter up the comment section. I guess I’m a closed-communion kind of a guy. I’ve never been in a church where communion was with held from someone who wanted it. I’ve never seen anyone who wasn’t a Christian ask for it in the service. If someone did who wasn’t a Christian how would you know?

I don’t think we should eject folks from the service if the Lord Supper is being observed though. I remember one of the first times I asked my Grandma about Jesus was when she made me pass the wafers without taking one. “You can’t have that right now,” she said, “or this either,” when I passed the juice. Members of the Church are different and have different perogatives than those of this world. It helps to point that out sometimes.

And I don’t have a problem with somber services. If I read the New Testament right the Corinthians were rebuked for their raucous celebrations and ‘love feasts’ with respect to communion. “Don’t you have houses to eat in?” Paul asks, or something like that.

I think you should be caught up in your prayer life before participating. A man should know where he is spiritually. I’ve discovered, though, that I believe a person who is saved is qualified—unconfessed sin or not. They have been made worthy by the blood of Christ. He has made them worthy—nothing they can do can change it. How does that reconcile? Well it may not, but the thoughtful person will realize that a believer will want to go into the ordinance with his mind clear and his prayer caught up.

As for the service itself, I’ve been served by the deacons in the pew and I’ve been invited down front to take communion when I feel I am ready. Both methods are worshipful and reflective, or can be. I’ve come to realize that some folks are just not going to ever think about anything.

5 responses to “Communion

  1. Thanks for reposting this one for me Josh. I really only wanted to add my views on the whole issue of the Communion format. I’m Methodist and we have, like most, a fairly formal Communion service, which I have grown to really dislike for some reason. Although I understand the thinking behind it, I get irritated by leader statements being followed by church statements i.e. Minister says “a, b & c” and we respond” x, y or z” or whatever. For me it in no way resembles nor helps me to truly contemplate the real meaning of the Last Supper because of this formality which tends to remove any fellowship. Everything done in silence and contemplation precludes that (although we do have a 2-min meet and greet at the start). When I look at the Jewish festivals celebrating what God has ordained its such a different picture sometimes – although still formal, there’s more of an informality entwined within their ‘services’ e.g. the Shabbat meal. While I appreciate Jesus’ command wasn’t to hold a meal as such to remember him by, I just feel that the meal He held himself on that occasion, was a relaxed, informal gathering of friends sharing bread and wine and CONVERSATION!! I can’t imagine they all sat there in total silence throughout.

    I suppose my point really is that I much prefer the odd church I’ve been to, where we sit in our seats and bread and wine that has been consecrated is passed around for us to freely take from (or not as the case may be) while enjoying the fellowship of those in our company. However, conversation is out in any Communion ceremony through respect and worship which perhaps is fair enough, but for me, it just removes the freedom to express myself more during it. Maybe I’m just getting overly picky or thinking too much on it. Wondering tho if anyone else feels this way sometimes – too much formality within our churches stifling free expression for true fellowship?? Blessings, TKR

  2. TKR I don’t know that much about the Methodists actually other than they usually get out before the Baptists do–subsequently the generally have better seating at the restaurants.

    Don’t take this the wrong way but I’ve noticed that when I begin to think something stinks about the church in which I am a member it may just be time to clean my moustache!

  3. Stinky things…those moustaches…

  4. So Josh what’s your thoughts on communion as a means of grace?

  5. Pete

    I think the Pope has a funny looking hat and he can hold that wafer up in the air as long as he likes and its still not going to trans anything. Heck even the Alchemists gave up on trying to change one thing into another and they were REALLY a smart bunch. Lead is lead and bread is bread brother–its what goes on inside and comes out that counts.

    Kevin

    Limburger changes everything.

Leave a Reply

