You just thought I missed it.

You thought I missed v. 41 didn’t you? I wanted to save this one for Sunday in case anyone checked in before or after Church because this is something we overlook a lot of times.

I noticed something Jesus said that I usually just pass over. In v.41 He tells us: “For truly, I say to you, whoever gives you a cup of water to drink because you belong to Christ will by no means lose his reward.” That person who just ‘served’ you a cup of water? Did you notice them? Did you say thank you? The simple and obvious fact that we don’t know everyone who belongs to Jesus slapped me up-side the head when I read that. We are told that they will ‘by no means lose [their] reward.’ Not only that THEY might truly be greater than you in the kingdom of heaven because they have a proper attitude. They’re not interested in your theological lunch conversation on Sunday afternoon down at Luby’s or whatever. They are more concerned that you are properly fed and watered so you can enjoy your nap this afternoon.

Be good to those who serve you—Pastors included. If you weren’t, try harder next week.

Seriously, may the Lord bless you this day. I mean that.

    Other Posts In This Series:


1. The Asking
2. Good ol’ Gamaliel
3. You Just Thought I Missed It
4. Millstones Don’t Float
5. Preparation
6. The Salt of the Earth
7. Lazy Boy

Leave a Reply

