Wow. Thats about all I can say.

We don’t know what Christianity is until we worship God and love him for what he is and not only for what he gives.–R.C. Sproul

3 responses to “Wow. Thats about all I can say.

  1. So true. I find it the toughest thing to do to just be quiet before Him, without feeling like I have to throw him a daily shopping list of requests for Him to fulfil. Even if I’m praising Him or thanking Him, it’s not quite the same as just worshiping Him for Who He IS because even praise and worship somehow requests a response from Him to make us feel good, or fulfilled or whatever. “Be still and know that I am God” is a verse that hits me daily, yet one I can rarely comply with – thankfully, like everyone I’m a work in progress :))

  2. I heard someone say that we too often seek God’s hand rather than His face…

    I guess there’s some truth in that. However, isn’t it our utter dependence upon Him that most glorifies Him? We are derived, He is free.

  3. Well who is He then? Is He just some nebulous deity which can affect our circumstances if he is manipulated in just the right way? Or is He the Sovereign God of the Bible?

    even praise and worship somehow requests a response from Him

    Now thats a can o’ worms right there.

    Edit: Check the new link to R.C. Sproul’s sermon about grace and justice for an idea of how God views worship.

Leave a Reply

