Unbound

The more I do this blogging thing the more I realize that, for all its benefits, its more suited to worldly pursuits than it is to proclaiming the Word. And it’s not just my mostly unpleasant interaction within the realm of Baptiblogs its just a general impression that’ll probably raise some eyebrows from some that have been doing it a long while and that’s fine. Correct me if I’m wrong, as I generally try to say, and we’ll both be better off. I don’t plan on quitting any time soon, in spite of what I just said.

It’s the same sort of feeling I used to get, actually, when a crusade would come through town and I never volunteered to be a counselor or whatever. There’s a reason the gospel should be shared one to one and person to person. It’s because there are responsibilities that come with leading someone to Christ. Jesus knew that, which is why he sent the Holy Spirit. It’s not as if, in a deist sense, he accomplished the atonement and went to the right hand of the Father to enjoy the show. (In spite of a few who’ve decided I might think otherwise) We have the Spirit that illuminates the word of God and bears testimony in us that no, we’re not alone in this. “Christ in you, the hope of glory” suddenly means a lot more when you realize it is for real. Blogging doesn’t really allow the joy, though, of taking up those responsibilities and seeing them bear fruit in someone’s life. You can’t really watch the light click on when someone reads your blog at 2 a.m. in Omaha.

Really I don’t suppose it’s any different than a book or an academic work. Someone can read it in Timbuktu and get it wrong or right and there’s not anymore you can do about it than your next door neighbor doing the same thing.

So do me a favor. If you read this on a Sunday, just turn the computer off and pick up the Word instead. Read through Colossians or Esther or Ruth or Galatians. Stroll through the Gospels if you would. Heck, read through Romans for that matter—just read with the idea that “This is what God has to say to me.” You may be surprised.

The word of God is not bound…are you?

4 responses to “Unbound

  1. Blessings to you today, Josh. I was telling my husband this morning that I think most of my readers are Believers and that is a bit disappointing to me. I do believe, however, that some in need of the Light stumble onto my site and that the Word of God never returns void. I don’t guess it matters whether or not I deem it success or not. It is what God wants me to do at this time.

    I, for one, enjoy your blog.

    Sherri

  2. Great post, Josh. We agree.

  3. Hmmm…have you ever thought about giving it up? I have. Not because I’m not seeing growth or readership, but because I wonder if I even had 10,000 visitors a day, is it better ministering to them or would it be better spending more time in prayer, meditation and study.

    I do wonder about that often.

  4. Thanks Sherri–praise the Lord that his Word does do what he wants and not what we try to make it do.

    Thanks Bryan and I’m putting some prayer on your packing. That’s tough no matter how you look at it.

    Armen, I’ve seriously considered it but I think that, at least at this point in my life, that the good outweighs the bad. It’s a great form of discipline for Bible study and I get a lot out of reading these other blogs too.

Leave a Reply

