Dirt

I read Phil Johnson’s post about the mud in the blind man’s eye thing in John 9 and I think he’s dead on. I love that passage and I have spent a great deal of time studying it over the years and he still managed to pull out a number of things I never thought about–which, er, may not be a surprise to some who know me but nevertheless…

But its merely a perception about dirt–that it’s dull and can’t do anything. To the OCD Jews who were obsessively washing their hands and whatever I suppose that its not much but dirt is important.

OK, I admit it. I have a fairly large garden that could grow all the fresh produce we need all summer and way into the fall and then we could plant a Fall garden and there are even some crops that grow during the winter. But it all grows in, you know, dirt.

Beans and peas and tomatoes and potatoes swiss chard and lettuce and greens and spinach and carrots and onions and oh just all kinds of things grow out there. And all of this out of dirt.

Which I suppose why posting has been light these last few weeks. Gardening season has begun and its going to be hard for me to focus on much else for awhile. Well, except my sore hands and back and all that delightful dirt.

One thing I want to add, though, that I’ve learned over the years. When you’re breaking up ground, make sure you break up enough for all the seed you want to plant. I’m sure you can find a good biblical lesson in there if you try.

One other thing: No, I’m not quitting, I’m just busy. I’ll write quite a bit probably, you know that if you’ve got a blog. There are some things you just have to write.

14 responses to “Dirt

  1. No, I’m not quitting, I’m just busy. I’ll write quite a bit probably, you know that if you’ve got a blog. There are some things you just have to write.

    I hear ya…enjoy the garden…We got ‘maters, basel, strawberries, lettuce, etc. in or around the garden right now…it’s killer work, but oh so fun! 😉

  2. [garden geek]
    We’re in zone 7 which is a little behind most places in Texas. The Almanac said April 1(ish) was supposed to be the last frost but that shows what they know, we had one a coupla nights ago. Anyway, because I was incredibly busy with other things, all I had in the ground was onions and lettuce. I did get most of it turned over yesterday afternoon. (which means Josh is WAY stove up this morning.)
    [/garden geek]

    All of that and its good exercise too!

  3. Josh,

    As always, I enjoyed your post, especially the part about breaking up enough ground for the seed. As my pastor would say, “You came right down my street and dropped off the mail” with that one.

    I am looking forward to the cold lifting so I can be back in my garden! I need to get some rabbit gaurd around my pea seedlings.

    Waskly Wabbits.

    Sherri

  4. Josh,

    stove up

    Man, I hear you there…:D

  5. Rabbits??? Last year I planted a whole bed of black beans for soup and my neighbor’s cows got out and ate the whole thing. I told him next time I might have to visit the butcher. (I was only half kidding.)

    I can grow purple hull peas Sherri but English peas escape me.

  6. Josh,

    I plant a bed of English peas and my kids know they are just for them. I never cook a single one. The kids pick them, shell them, and eat them like candy. They are free to eat them anytime they are playing in the yard…as long as they share. This morning there was a bunny in the yard and I said told the kids I thought it had eaten all of the peas. In unison they said, “Kill it.”

    Sherri

  7. OK I literally laughed a big long and loud belly laugh over that one. Thanks for that.

    Boy they surprise you sometimes don’t they? “Kill it!” Man.

  8. Josh,
    Don’t be jealous but I have a lead on a guy with a trained bird of prey (falcon or hawk, I don’t know) coming here my little corner of suburbia to hunt the bunnies in my yard. I told the kids and they said, “Cool”.

    I don’t think it would work for cows though.

    Sherri

  9. Two words: thirty-oughtsix. I do live in the country you know…

    Though I seriously doubt I’d shoot anyones cows. Too messy.

    I did hear that if you can find a source–say a circus or a zoo–of lion doo and spread it around your garden that even dogs won’t go near the thing.

  10. GET OUT!!!! LION DOO?

    I can just see me driving from Nashville to Franklin with a minivan full of lion doo.

    I’ll probably ask for some next time I am at the zoo.

    Sherri

  11. Seriously, I didn’t think you could even cross the Tennesse state line in anything but a fifties model Chevy pickup with rusty hubcaps.

  12. You are very funny.

    You should visit Franklin sometime.

    Sherri

  13. My wife’s folks took a trip through Tennessee awhile back which means that we have seen some great photos of most of the golf courses and a few of the distilleries. Ahem. It was lovely…

    As nice as a vacation sounds, though, I am a stay at home Dad with four kids under the age of six so I am pretty happy if I can make it to WalMart and back without having to clean up an ‘accident’.

  14. Pingback: Be vewy quiet...I'm 'unting Wabbits! « Unbound

Leave a Reply

