Jerry Falwell Dies

I just got this in my email box from CNN. Here’s another link.

5 responses to “Jerry Falwell Dies

  1. Here’s a link to Mohler’s tribute at On Faith. Notice the venom in the comments…civility is a thing of the past, I’m afraid.

  2. Just about everyone on my reader list wrote about the guy so he must have been doing something right. I liked Centuri0n’s thing about him and Flynt the best I think. Tom Ascol had a good one too.

    I didn’t read the Mohler thing yet.

    I’m not sure how this is going to play out…

  3. Haven’t read Ascol’s yet…take a gander at Mohler’s…

  4. I read Mohler’s response and, as usual, it was respectful and right on target. What gets me is the comments. Nasty.

  5. You’ll never hear me say that I was a Jerry Falwell fan, but even I’ve been a little uncomfortable with the level of vitriol over his death. I think his record of hateful and hurtful public statements speaks for itself (I can’t tell you how many times I’ve heard his infamous 9/11 quote over and over this week). We don’t need to add anything to it now.

    Many of my friends and acquaintences have expressed giddy glee at this guy’s death. I don’t understand. As much as you dislike someone, how can you wish for their death?

    You can’t fight hate with hate.

Leave a Reply

