Blogfast day 13

I am delightfully well rested after a well deserved vacation and an enormous amount of yard work. I think I’m down about fifteen pounds for the season so I think I’m going to write a book about the new and improved yard work diet. Eat all you want just work like a dog for twelve or eighteen hours a day while you do it. Works every time.

I am inspired, however, to write this post by some of my recent commenters who are, lets face it, entitled to their own view of things. I think its hilarious, however, that most of them are drivebys and anonymous drivebys at that–if I had to guess from the times and writing style I’d say they’re the same person but thats just me.

John writes, on Jun 1st 2007 at 2:41 pm:

Wow that was a really nice list. I was with you until the Bible part. I don’t plan on teaching my kids that they’re inherently sinful creatures who need to telepathically communicate with a Jewish zombie who was his own father.

Unbound is an unapologetically Christian and biblical website, first, and a distilation of my own thoughts of things I see and read from that perspective. I think I’ve made that fairly clear.

As for your plans and the zombie thing…what? You can do what you like with your children unless your in California and then there are some regulations–something which is a God given perogative even if it is rapidly losing its protection in this country. Telepathy, also, would imply some power inherent in the average human to ‘communicate’ with God which, frankly, goes completely against the gospel as it is found in the Bible. It appears that you have some biblical knowledge John, in that I suspect you have rejected what truth you have found and, as such, probably won’t lose that much sleep over this little post of mine.

Thanks for the ‘bravo’ at the end but frankly it’s like writing a profane diatribe laced with smileys. It doesn’t ‘help’ at all.

Our new friend R00ST3R writes, on Jun 1st 2007 at 2:48 pm:

Um, OK. I am a non-believer (call it what you want). I have morals. Be descent to others, be respectful when appropriate, raise your kids to be the same. But I don’t think that kids are sinners and are going to hell. It’s beliefs like that that are spoon fed into our kids lives that do not allow them to think on their own about what they choose to believe in. It’s selfish to make them believe the same things you do just because you want them to turn out like you. Each mind is it’s own and is free to believe in whatever it wants. Kids have imaginary friends, and people think it’s odd. Adults have imaginary friends and people think they are crazy. Isn’t God just an imaginary friend as well?

This probably won’t get posted, but I think all opinions should be listened to in order for others to make up their own minds.

Well, actually, the mind is bound in just that way Rooster. The Bible teaches us that the entire human race is bound by sin and a nature so depraved that no one can reach God on their own. There is no choice involved in it at all which is why you write about imaginary friends and talk about how selfish it is to ‘make’ our children believe what we do. In the end, as I have been recently reminded, there is no making anyone do anything especially our kids. We can raise them and lead them to the truth but faith and repentence is a gift from God. The other side of this dichotomy is that man is still responsible for his own actions and has to make choices and live with the consequences. I applaud you for raising your children to be moral individuals but they have no hope without Christ. Don’t believe me? Watch the news and see how nasty a world this is.

By the way, why wouldn’t I post your opinion? God is quite capable of taking care of his own ends whether or not I am able to write a ‘good’ response.

And finally, Milander writes this on Jun 1st 2007 at 3:46 pm:

Ok, fine, having read through a fair few of your posts I find myself agreeing with a lot of them, in fact I practise a good few of them myself as I have 2 young boys. But, I resent your preaching and for that reason and that alone I won’t be returning to this site or any others you recommend. God is dead.

As I said above, good for you. Raising children right is definitely a good thing. ‘Resent’ all you want but its not my preaching, its the Gospel. Its a divisive thing and you are either able to believe it or your not. What I would encourage anyone who reads this is to think about it for a moment. Do you actually believe any part of the Gospel? Do you have any inkling that it might be true? That little spark is a gift from God folks. Fan it into flame or you are doing yourself and your children and all of their children on down the line a grave disservice.

I’m sorry you won’t be returning because I always try to respect other peoples candid comments–whether or not I agree with them. If they were vitriolic or hurtful I’d probably eject them but none of these were inherently bad or even mean spirited. And if God is in fact dead as you say he is then you don’t have anything to worry about and you can just quit going on about it. Those crazy Christians and their dead God. Sheesh.

Well he was dead for a little bit anyway…

Now I think I’ll return to my blogfast for a bit. Thanks for the comments and for dropping by my little blog.

The word of God is not bound…are you?

7 responses to “Blogfast day 13

  1. Josh,

    I have been totally skipping the gym for the last two weeks in order to do yard work and I am as happy as a clam. You should post photos.

    Oh, BTW…figured out how to deal with the bunnies but I’d have to e-mail it to you.

    Blessings, and I miss your posts.

    Sherri

  2. Lots of bunnies this year. Good rain, lots of rabbit-provender…

    I’ve got slugs all over my hostas and my lettuces and my spinach. Icky.

  3. I’ve got slugs all over my hostas and my lettuces and my spinach. Icky.

    I’ve found that salt is a satisfying way to deal with slugs, if you can keep it off your plants. But, that’s just my total depravity coming out…

  4. Slugs like beer. Then they drown. The end.

    A good Baptist minister could get a whole sermon out of that analogy, huh Josh?

    Sherri

  5. Oh I think I can get a whole post out of that one.

  6. You know I can’t keep silent on this one…

    I’ll ignore the whole slug thing going on in the comment section. I’m sure your readers are too nice of people to be suggesting what I suspect they might be suggesting, so I’ll chalk it up to my overly sensitive imagination.

    First off, trolling is seriously uncool. Religious people and atheists, liberals and conservatives alike are guilty of this. This is your blog, you can preach or tell jokes or write poetry to your little heart’s content. If someone doesn’t like it, they can just move on. Rude comments such as some of those that were left do nothing to further thoughtful and intelligent discussion, and only increase the divide between those of us with differing perspectives.

    Secondly, with respect to R00ST3R’s comment: Everyone is free to raise their children the way they see fit. However, one issue I will raise with regards to your response is that it is certainly possible to be a moral, ethical, good (whichever adjective you want to use) person without religion. Life is not black and white…there’s a whole lot of gray in there and most of us fall somewhere in the middle. It’s not simply “Christian” on one end and “Athiest” on the other.

    I’ll concede that us non-believers are “damned” in the sense that our non-belief presumably excludes us from eternal life in heaven, but since we don’t believe in eternal life, that’s okay. We’ll all sort this one out after death, I suppose, if that’s what you believe. But in the meantime, I think we atheists can live our lives just as well and just as fully as believers. I’m sure many people won’t believe that, and that’s fine. I can’t change anyone’s mind. I just wanted to share another atheist’s perspective.

    Oh, and finally, I’ve never read the Communist Manifesto. I’m sure you were joking, Josh, but I would be a bad atheist if I failed to remind you and your readers that “atheist” is not synonymous with “communist.”

    Sorry for rambling on so long. Welcome back to the blogosphere.

  7. Sara thanks and I was hoping you’d chime in on this. See the front page for more.

Leave a Reply

