Taking Steps

I was reading a post over at everydaymiracle today. The writer was nearly attacked while running.

Christian girls, women and ladies: please allow me a moment to exhort you in this. Do not be afraid to take steps to prepare to defend yourselves. Seriously. I know and so do you that a patient witness under duress and pain and other unspeakable things can be used by God to reach an otherwise unreachable man. And truly many women have labored to that cause. But I’ll tell you what, God can use a well aimed pepper spray, taser, or other unpleasantly painful action you might choose to work upon the body of a would-be attacker.

And, quite frankly, should you decide to do unto him before he does unto you he earned it.
That’s about all I have to say about it. Look around locally there are bound to be some good self-defense classes or something around your area.

4 responses to “Taking Steps

  1. Josh,

    I am so glad to see you are blogging again. You know what is funny, I am a trained boxer and in that moment I forgot everything I knew and screamed like a little girl. Also, he was experienced and wore large sunglasses so the mace would not have been very effective.

    In fact, the only way for me to get out of the situation was for him to just decide not to attack me after crouching in the cold for 30 minutes waiting.

    And that is what happened…

    Now that I think of it, isn’t that the perfect time for God to show up?

    Blessings,
    Sherri

  2. Boxing? And you had trouble with bunnies?

    God…show up.

    Yup. He has a way of doing that. It’s easy for him because he’s just EVERYWHERE. Wow.

    Glad to see you’re still running. I am too…well, if running to the fridge counts…

    Yeah, winter seems to be the optimal bloggin time for me. The garden is all mulched in and all I’m doing is making compost right now. And fighting leaves…lots of leaves for the garden.

  3. Why is it just Christian women who should be prepared to defend themselves? Are you saying the rest of us deserve to be attacked?

    Just messing with you, Josh…you left an opening there and I couldn’t resist. 🙂

  4. Ah, and when they leave an opening thats the best time to let them have it…POW! See? I’m glad you got the point. And so did I.

    “Girls in general TAKE STEPS!” My daughters will know how to TAKE STEPS. You can be sure of that.

Leave a Reply

