Why Bother?

Why should we go to church?

I mean, it’s a hassle. It takes a lot of time on Sunday. The church is full of hypocrites. I don’t like so and so. I don’t agree with this or that point of doctrine…

Why bother?

If you read Unbound I’d like you to consider this and respond either in the comments or on your own blog. I’m going to try to answer this question in the new year. I know why I go to church—and I thought there might be a few out there who would like to do the same.

2 responses to “Why Bother?

  1. In no particular order:
    – it’s commanded
    – it’s necessary to stand fast as a believer
    – it brings me joy to be in corporate fellowship
    – it brings me joy to be in corporate worship
    – I need the teaching of other believers
    – I am used in the life of others through “church”
    – to actively use my spiritual gifts
    – to glorify God
    – to corporately praise God
    – to corporately experience God’s presence
    – to be a testimony to unbelievers who might visit
    – to set aside distinct time “for the Lord”
    – to partially observe some of the elements of a Sabbath
    – to celebrate the Lord’s Supper (a community is necessary for this)
    – so that the church can be an actual body rather than scattered, isolated pieces

    I’ll stop for now.

  2. Now see there? Thats what I’m talking about. The first one, actually, is enough, don’t you think? And pretty much any objection offered up after that can still be answered by ‘but its commanded’.

    Thanks for that Dylan.

Leave a Reply

