Almost enough to make me vote for a Democrat

How partisan does that sound?

Here’s my monthly political post on this article I read in the Washington Post.

When I started reading it I was agin it. When I got to the end of it I thought it probably couldn’t hurt to have surveillance on over seas calls. I just get jumpy when I see the words ‘broad expansion’ and ‘Senate’ in the same sentence.

3 responses to “Almost enough to make me vote for a Democrat

  1. IF,IF,IF,IF,IF,IF,if,if,if,if the monitored communication is being made for the purpose of Terrorizing a population, I suppose that kind of surveillance would be acceptable, IF that was the only reason for that kind of activity. However, it appears to me that the difference between Monitoring and Surveillance has been skewed.
    A surveillance is something one does to monitor a known illegal activity. Monitoring the entire population sifting for things to start surveillance on is a little be outside my acceptance. People in the government have been known to use that kind of information for their own agendas.

  2. True enough. I keep thinking of that quote about those who give up some freedom in exchange for security…

  3. “Those who would give up Essential Liberty to purchase a little Temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety.”

    (commonly attributed to Benjamin Franklin, and almost always misquoted)

Leave a Reply

